Online Events and Resources During Coronavirus Outbreak

The following is an extensive list of resources that my researcher, partner, soul mate, best friend, carepartner, and spouse, Angela Robb, has accumulated and has graciously shared here with us.

You will notice that events and classes are by reoccurring first, then by topic. At this time, where online sharing and learning has gone berserk, this list is up to date but impossible to be totally complete. We plan to add items as we find new resources.
Thank you!

Reoccurring Online Events

Mondays

10am EDT  Visionary Caregivers Connect Time – Meet with fellow caregivers to share.

11am EDT (10am CDT) Parkinson Voice Project – Daily speech practice with Samantha Elandary MA, CCC-SLP

1 p.m. EDTMindfulness Mondays – Follow along live as a speaker gives tips on staying mindful in this unique time. – Parkinson Foundation

Tuesdays

10am CDT (11am EDT) Parkinson Voice Project – Daily speech practice with Samantha Elandary MA, CCC-SLP

2nd Tuesday of each month 10pm EDT – 11:30pm (7:00 pm – 8:30 pm MDT) Young Onset Parkinson’s Disease (YOPD) Online Support Group – Parkinson Society British Columbia

Wednesdays

10am EDT Visionary Caregivers Connect Time – Meet with fellow caregivers to share.

11am EDT (10am CDT) Parkinson Voice Project – Daily speech practice with Samantha Elandary MA, CCC-SLP

1pm EDT – Let’s Keep Moving Fitness Series – The APDA National Rehabilitation Resource Center for Parkinson’s Disease at Boston University – These will be short (approximately 20 minutes) sessions. Available via Zoom, and also livestreamed to APDA’s Facebook page. Use this link for more information and to register. -American Parkinson Disease Association (APDA)

1:30pm EDT (10:30am PDT) – Feldenkrais Method – Northwest Parkinson’s Foundation (NWPF)

4:30pm EDT (1:30pm PDT) Yoga for Parkinson’s – Northwest Parkinson’s Foundation (NWPF)

9:00pm EDT (6pm PDT) Mindful Compassion Hour – Northwest Parkinson’s Foundation (NWPF)

Thursdays

10am CDT (11am EDT) Parkinson Voice Project – Daily speech practice with Samantha Elandary MA, CCC-SLP

Various times each Thursday in April – In honor of Parkinson’s Awareness Month, the World Parkinson Coalition (WPC) is holding its first ever virtual Parkinson’s Sing-A-Long led by WPC Choir Director, Judi Spencer each Thursday in April. Advanced registration is required!

Fridays

10am EDT Visionary Caregivers Connect Time – Meet with fellow caregivers to share.

11am EDT (10am CDT) Parkinson Voice Project – Daily speech practice with Samantha Elandary MA, CCC-SLP

12pm-1:30pm EDT (9am-10:30am MDT) Online Parkinson’s Support Group – Parkinson Society British Columbia

Saturdays

April 18 – June 6, 2020, 12pm-1:30pm
Yoga, Wellness, and Parkinson’s Disease Virtual Course – Contact: 781-609-2497 or info@TriYogaBoston.org, or Register online here.

Sundays

4pm EDT – Yoga Nidra (relaxed guided meditation) with Carolyn Bagdoyanvia Zoom (no video), Meeting ID: 438 918 072, Password required: 392699 –Visit this page if you would like to call in via phone and additional information.

Movement or Exercise Instruction Online


Voice Practices Online

For Caregivers:

Webinars & Educational Programs

  • Archived Webinars from The Davis Phinney Foundation
  • Wellness Wednesdays – Each Wednesday at Noon EDT – Check our Facebook at noon to watch doctors discuss issues important to the Parkinson’s community. Archives of these online events are located at this link. – Parkinson Foundation
  • Parkinson Society British Columbia Various dates and times for educational seminars for those living with Parkinson’s and caregivers.
  • Archived Webinars from the American Parkinson Disease Association (APDA)
  • Parkinson Association of the Rockies – Archived and upcoming Webinars
  • Dr. Gilbert Hosts Series:  Dr. Rebecca Gilbert will be hosting Q&A sessions with various experts via Zoom on Mondays. There will be expert discussion, followed by Q&A with attendees. (April 20 (time TBD): Dr. Gilbert Hosts: COVID-19 & the Underserved with Dr. Natalie Diaz and Rosa Pena, MSW. Part of this program will be translated into Spanish, April 27, 12pm ET: Dr. Gilbert Hosts: DBS & COVID-19 with Dr. Jill Ostrem, May 4 (time TBD): Dr. Gilbert Hosts: Medication Management & COVID-19 with Cathi Thomas) – APDA
  • Northwest Parkinson’s Foundation (NWPF) – List of online resources available.

Hobbies, Arts, & Entertainment

 Covid-19/Coronavirus Information

New Articles from People Living with Parkinson’s:

Parkinson’s Diva Secret to Stress Free Living During Pandemic: By M. De Leon

A Balancing act:Life, medicines and Pd by Maria De Leon

Ejercicios de alta intensidad para personas con enfermedad de Parkinson by defeatparkinsons

Different kind of hero : by S. Krisher

Articles of Interest from Parkinson Organizations:

%d bloggers like this: